The tears? They aren’t the baby’s!

Little Z is a thumb sucker. It’s her comfort thing. I tried to avoid it, we tried to stop it, but her stubborn little behind, she was NOT going to use a binky. I know that it is much easier to stop children from using a pacifier. Snip the end off, or have the binky fairy come. Simple, easy, painless. (For the most part. Big Z gave hers up on her own. She was too busy to be bothered with one.)

 

I keep putting off taking *z* to the dentist, because I know that he is going to tell me that she needs to stop, that she is doing damage to her teeth. While I was doing her hair today, and cleaning her ears, she was brushing her teeth, and i really noticed that her front teeth are not”straight”. They are just slightly moved, so I could tell that she needs to give up the thumb. Now, we have been sorta, half heartedly been trying to convince her she is a big girl, and she doesn’t need it. Tonight was the first night, in, over two years, that my baby fell asleep without her thumb in her mouth. And I’m sad.

 

Little Z is our last baby. (At this point. We’re fairly sure we’re done, but we’re still young, so…) My baby is giving up the last of her “baby” things. She’s potty training, she has a hair style, and not just the pouf of hair that she’s had for forever, and now, no more thumb sucking. I have tears just telling you about it. The plus side of the whole thing? I’m going to cuddle her to sleep for the next few nights, so at least I still have that.

 

I have researched devices and tips to help with our problem. I decided that while handy and great, and very smart, the Thumb Guard is just too expensive for us. So we opted for…

 

 

And no. I could not find a matching pair. (The brat usually only sucks her LEFT thumb, but as soon as I covered that one, she tried to use the right. Hence, two mittens.)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Brat said,

    You make me very thankful that Bratfink Jr. never had a binky or thumb habit. She just had that damned blankey she dragged everywhere.

    That was bad enough.

  2. 2

    Holly said,

    Looks like a good way to get her to stop. Great work.

  3. 3

    StacyRenee said,

    Give her a kiss for me.

  4. 4

    Faerylandmom said,

    Awww! I am checking out that sight for my 5-year-old…yup…we’re tired of working with him. I think it’s time to throw down the gauntlet! So to speak…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

